Full list of countries on the UK’s new quarantine ‘red list’

Full list of countries on the UK’s new quarantine ‘red list’

 The UK government has published a full list of countries

A new ‘red-list’ of high risk countries has been laid out by Downing Street, in a bid to keep mutant strains of coronavirus at bay. UK nationals and residents returning from these destinations will have to quarantine for 10 days in Government sanctioned hotels, or other suitable accommodation.

Paypal KBJOJO via https://paypal.me/kbjojonewsbox?country.x=GB&locale.x=en_GB iVisa.com Source: https://currencyrate.today/converter-widget

It is understood arrivals will be escorted directly from the airport to their rooms, where they will have to pay a bill of around £1,500 for their stay.


The rules will only apply to British travellers as foreign citizens who have been in the red-list countries are already banned from entering the country.

In a bid to stop unnecessary travel the other way round, Home Secretary Priti Patel told MPs today that Britons would be sent home from airports and ports if they could not prove their trip was ‘essential’.


She told the Commons: ‘It is clear that there are still too many people coming in and out of our country each day.


‘And today I am announcing further action to strengthen the health measures we already have at the border, but to reduce passenger flow so that only a small number of people for whom it is absolutely essential to travel are doing so and therefore reducing the risk to our world-leading vaccine programme.


’ The full list of countries on the UK’s ‘red-list’






Cape Verde

Chile Colombia

Democratic Republic of Congo















(including Madeira and the Azores) Seychelles

South Africa








She said that people have been ‘turning up with their skis’ at London’s St Pancras station and in a dig at social media influencers in Dubai, she added:

‘Going on holiday is not a valid reason to travel.’

The new quarantine measures are in response to a number of more transmissible variants reported over the past few months. However the curbs stop short of Patel and Health Secretary Matt Hancock’s demands for the quarantine rule to be applied to all arrivals.

The PM created some confusion earlier today in the Commons when he said 22 countries would be on the red-list.

It is actually 30, but the Home Secretary did not specify which countries would be on it when addressing MPs.

PM: All arrivals to UK from high-risk areas will go into quarantine for 10 days

Sources say the number of people subjected to the quarantine regime every day will be in the hundreds to begin with, but is expected to fall sharply. At this afternoon’s PMQs,

Johnson said: ‘I want to make clear that under the stay at home regulations, it is illegal to leave home to travel abroad for leisure purposes and we will enforce this at ports and airports by asking people why they are leaving and instructing them to return home if they do not have a valid reason to travel.

‘We have also banned all travel from 22 countries where there is a risk of known variants including South Africa, Portugal and South American nations.



Previous Oyo: Makinde orders security re-enforcement around Oke-Ogun, outlines strategies, redeploys 200 Amotekun Corps to Ibarapa
Next Herdsmen did not attack Prof Soyinka -Agunloye

No Comment

Leave a Reply